Setrem / Applications / Human food

Human food

 

Extrusion: Producing healthy and digestible food adapted to the different needs of the population

With the rapid growth of the world population, food is a major challenge: we must find solutions to meet the nutritional needs of all. Extrusion produces four main families of products with high nutritional value: Textured Vegetable Protein (TVP), children’s food, snacks and breakfast cereals.

  • Textured Vegetable Protein (TVP)

It takes on average 4.9kg of vegetable protein to produce 1kg of animal protein. It is therefore necessary to produce vegetable proteins that can substituted animal proteins to ensure sustainable global food security. Extrusion cooking makes possible to transform vegetable proteins into a meat analogue called Textured Vegetable Protein (TVP). They have been created to have the same sensory characteristics as animal proteins: appearance, texture and mouthfeel. They can therefore replace all or part of the meat in  dishes: Bolognese sauce, nuggets, hamburger, sausages … but are also tasted directly as a flavored or seasoned pieces in many countries such as China, Taiwan, Japan or South Korea.

TVPs have many advantages:

  • Are suitable for dietary restrictions of different religions, cultures, vegetarianism
  • Cost reduction (vs. animal protein)
  • Long conservation
  • Easy to use

All vegetable proteins can be textured, but it is soybeans that are by far the most used in the manufacture of PVT. This is explained by the law of supply and demand : the reserves are plentiful and it is cheap.

  • Food for children

Extrusion cooking makes ready-to-use powders which water must be added to instantly obtain rehydrated, fully gelatinized and cooked foods. The extruded mixture is sterile, so it is healthy and safe for children. However, care must be taken with the quality of the water or milk added and the storage conditions of the product once rehydrated.

These porridges play an important role in the food independence of developing countries, which is highly energy efficient and low-cost; it is a way to fight against child malnutrition. Extrusion makes it possible to use all the raw materials, so each country can adapt its recipes to locally available resources. In addition, SETREM adjusts its machines according to the energy availability and environmental constraints of the country.

 

  • Snacks

The extruded shapes are very varied to meet all market demands. Snacks can be of different types: shaped dough made from potato or maize, extruded by direct expansion, coextruded…

Extrusion makes it possible to give different properties to snacks depending on the target consumer:

  • Low calories containing resistant starch,
  • Elaborate by its taste qualities for adults,
  • Attractive shape and color for children.

 

 

  • Breakfast cereals

Very present in North America and Central Europe, breakfast cereals represent a booming market: 10 to 20% growth in Italy, 20 to 25% in Eastern Europe as well as 15 to 20% in Latin America.

Manufacturers mainly target three groups: children, nutrition and health-conscious consumers and consumers looking for high-energy products. As with snacks, extrusion makes it possible to produce a whole range of products adapted to expectations of these different audiences.

Why extrusion cooking:

  • continuous process,
  • possibility of lowering the costs of raw materials thanks to a greater flexibility of formulation,
  • energy saving,
  • Smaller and more automated equipment that saves space and labor.

The advantages of SETREM extrusion solutions:

  • Custom machines for your products,
  • Fully stainless steel lines to meet agri-food standards,
  • Capacities ranging from 40 kg / h to 9T / h,
  • Complete extrusion solutions, including the dryer.

Setrem / Applications / Alimentation humaine

Alimentation humaine

 

L’extrusion : produire des aliments sains et digestes adaptés aux différents besoins des populations

Avec l’accroissement rapide de la population mondiale, l’alimentation est un enjeu majeur : il faut trouver des solutions pour subvenir aux besoins nutritionnels de tous. L’extrusion permet de produire principalement 4 grandes familles de produits à fortes valeurs nutritionnelles: les Protéines Végétales Texturés (PVT), des aliments pour enfants, des snacks et des céréales pour petit déjeuner.

  • Les Protéines Végétales Texturés (PVT)

Il faut en moyenne 4.9kgs de protéines végétales pour produire 1kg de protéine animale. Il est donc nécessaire de produire des protéines végétales pouvant se substituer aux protéines animales pour assurer une sécurité alimentaire mondiale durable. La cuisson extrusion permet de transformer les protéines végétales en analogue de viande appelé : Protéines Végétales Texturées (PVT). Elles ont été créées pour avoir les mêmes caractéristiques sensorielles que des protéines animales : apparence, texture, sensation en bouche. Elles permettent donc de remplacer tout ou partie de la viande dans un plat : sauce bolognaise, nuggets, hamburger, saucisses… mais sont également dégustées comme plat dans de nombreux pays tels que la Chine, Taiwan, le Japon ou la Corée du Sud.

Les PVT présentent de nombreux avantages :

  • conviennent aux restrictions des régimes alimentaires des différentes religions, cultures, végétarismes
  • réduction des coûts (vs. protéines animales)
  • Longue conservation
  • Utilisation facile

Toutes les protéines végétales peuvent être texturées, mais ce sont les graines de soja qui sont de loin les plus utilisées dans la fabrication de PVT. Cela s’explique par la loi de l’offre et de la demande : les réserves sont abondantes et le prix est bas.

  • Les aliments pour enfants

La cuisson-extrusion permet de fabriquer des poudres prête à l’emploi auquel il faut rajouter de l’eau pour obtenir instantanément des aliments réhydratés, complètement gélatinisés et cuits. Le mélange extrudé est stérile, il est donc sain et sans danger pour les enfants. Néanmoins, il faut faire attention à la qualité de l’eau ou du lait ajouté ainsi qu’aux conditions de conservation du produit une fois réhydraté.

Ces bouillies jouent un rôle important dans l’indépendance alimentaire des produits en voie de développement, effectivement fortement énergétique et à moindre coût c’est un moyen de lutte contre la malnutrition infantile. L’extrusion permet d’utiliser toutes les matières premières. Chaque pays peut donc adapter ses recettes aux ressources disponibles localement. De plus, SETREM adapte ses machines en fonction des disponibilités énergétiques et contraintes environnementales du pays.

 

  • Les snacks

Les formes extrudées sont très variées afin de répondre à toutes les sollicitations du marché. Les snacks peuvent être de différents types : pâtes à base de pomme de terre ou de maïs mis en forme, extrudé par expansion directe, co-extrudés…

L’extrusion permet de donner différentes propriétés aux snacks suivant le public visé:

  • basses calories contenant de l’amidon résistant,
  • raffiné de par ses qualités gustatives pour les adultes,
  • de forme et de couleur attractive pour les enfants…
  • Les céréales pour petit déjeuner

Très présente en Amérique du Nord et en Europe centrale, les céréales pour petit déjeuner représentent un marché en forte croissance : 10 à 20% en Italie, 20 à 25%  en Europe de l’Est  ainsi que 15 à 20% Amérique Latine.

Les industriels visent principalement trois publics : les enfants, les consommateurs soucieux de nutrition et santé et les consommateurs à la recherche de produits à fortes valeurs énergétiques. Tout comme pour les snacks, l’extrusion permet de produire tout une gamme de produit s’adaptant aux attentes de ces différents publics.

Pourquoi la cuisson extrusion :

  • procédé continu,
  • possibilité de baisser les coûts des matières premières grâce à une plus grande flexibilité de formulation,
  • économie d’énergie,
  • Des équipements plus petits et plus automatisés permettant une économie d’espace et de main d’œuvre.

Les avantages des solutions d’extrusion SETREM :

  • Des machines sur mesures pour vos produits,
  • Des lignes entièrement en acier inoxydable pour satisfaire les normes agroalimentaires,
  • Des capacités allant de 40 kg/h à 9T/h,
  • Des solutions d’extrusion complètes, incluant le sécheur.